Kansas Administrative Regulations

Agency 40.  Insurance Department

Article 7.  Agents

40-7-13 Agents; scope, subclassification; type and conduct of examinations; re-examination.

(a) The licensing examination for each agent shall test the applicant's knowledge in the following areas:

(1)  The laws of Kansas, including:

(A)  pertinent provisions of the statutes of Kansas; and

(B)  rules and regulations of the insurance department;

(2)  general insurance, including:

(A)  duties and responsibilities of a licensed agent; and

(B)  basic insurance knowledge; and

(3)  the specific classes or subclasses of insurance for which application is made.

(b)  For examination purposes, the classifications and subclassifications of insurance shall be as follows:





(1)  Life insurance;


(2)  health insurance;


(3)  casualty insurance

title insurance and bail bonds;

(4)  property insurance

crop insurance


(c)  Persons failing to score at least 70 percent on any examination shall have failed that examination and shall not be qualified for a license for that class or subclass. Notification of the result of each examination shall be provided to the applicant only.

(d)  Examinations shall be conducted as follows.

(1)  Each applicant shall be advised of eligibility for examination by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee.

(2)  The applicant's licensing application shall remain effective for a period of one year from the date received. On and after May 1, 1989, an examination registration shall be effective for a period of 90 days from the date the registration is validated.


(Authorized by K.S.A. 40-103, K.S.A. 1991 Supp. 40-241; implementing K.S.A. 1991 Supp. 40-241; effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1, 1968; amended Jan. 1, 1969; amended Jan. 1, 1970; amended, E-70-28, July 1, 1970; amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended, E-71-24, July 1, 1971; amended Jan. 1, 1972; amended Jan. 1, 1973; amended Jan. 1, 1974; amended, E-78-24, Sept. 7, 1977; amended May 1, 1978; amended May 1, 1979; amended May 1, 1981; amended May 1, 1982; amended May 1, 1985; amended May 1, 1986; amended May 1, 1987; amended Dec. 26, 1988; amended May 15, 1989; amended Feb. 8, 1993.)