A company is required to certify each producer or agency that will transact Kansas insurance business on its behalf. Certification must be submitted to the Kansas Insurance Department within 30 working days of appointment. Failure to appoint within the required time will subject the company to monetary penalty. Certification of an agency will automatically include each licensed insurance producer associated with the business entity for the kinds of insurance permitted under the license in effect for the producer.
The nonrefundable certification fees are $2 for each producer or agency appointed by a Kansas-domiciled company and $5 for each producer or agency appointed by a foreign-domiciled company. Companies will be billed monthly for these fees.
Certification may be submitted electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry. Companies may also contact the Producer Licensing Division to request the Kansas Insurance Department Company Appointment/Cancellation Form. Use of this form is limited to insurance company personnel.